aseboworldwide.blogg.se

How to install linux on usb hard drive
How to install linux on usb hard drive






  1. HOW TO INSTALL LINUX ON USB HARD DRIVE INSTALL
  2. HOW TO INSTALL LINUX ON USB HARD DRIVE PRO

In summary, the three essential points to address during installation to an external USB HDD are: So if there is a performance penalty associated with using an external USB HDD, my wife and I haven't noticed. Running Arch from the external USB HDD seems as quick as running Debian from the internal HDD. The laptop happily and consistently boots Arch Linux from the external USB HDD when it's plugged in before startup/booting. Kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/. The relevant portion of my /boot/grub/menu.lst looks like the following: (e) Once your Arch system has booted, edit the /boot/grub/menu.lst to make the above changes permanent. (d) Press b to boot the system with these temporary corrections. (c) To the end of the kernel line add rootdelay=8 (a) When the Arch boot menu comes up, press e to edit the grub entries. When you boot Arch from the external USB HDD, as far as Arch is concerned - at that point in time - the external USB HDD is the first drive in the system. The GRUB /boot/grub/menu.lst as written by the installation routine specifies hd(1,0) which doesn't work when you try to reboot from the external USB HDD. If the root partition sdb1 was selected then the laptop won't boot from the external USB HDD. When it asked where GRUB should be installed, I had to select sdb (my external USB HDD) and not any of the particular partitions on sdb. Installation of GRUB was the other point where caution and/or correction was necessary. HOOKS="base udev autodetect pata scsi sata usb filesystems"Ĩ. The relevant line from the end of the edited /etc/nf file is below: Otherwise I got the same sorts of errors relating to unrecognisable file system types that other people have reported in the forum. I found this to be essential for my external USB HDD to function as a bootable device. USB had to be added to the HOOKS in the /etc/nf file! This was section was straightforward with one warning: The package selection and installation was fairly straightforward. I chose 20 GB for /, 2 GB for swap and the remainder for /home.Ħ. (b) Remember to set the Bootable Flag for the first (/) partition on the HDD. (a) Make very sure that the external HDD (sdb) is selected for the operations. This was fairly straightforward with two cautions: I was installing from the core CD so I skipped the network steps. Used km to change to UK keyboard layout and then began the installer script (/arch/setup).

HOW TO INSTALL LINUX ON USB HARD DRIVE INSTALL

I started the laptop and the Archlinux installation menu came up and I proceeded with installation following the "Official Arch Linux Install Guide" and the "Beginners Guide".Ĥ. On the Dell, you can also press F12 to select the preferred boot device for that boot.ģ. I edited the boot sequence to the following: When the Dell laptop was booted, I pressed F2 to enter the BIOS setup. I put the Archlinux install CD in the drive and connected the external 80 GB HDD in the USB port.Ģ.

HOW TO INSTALL LINUX ON USB HARD DRIVE PRO

I have tried to make this "newbie-friendly", so I hope the more experienced will forgive the detail.Įxternal USB HDD = Freecom FHD-2 Pro 80 GBġ. So I experimented with installing Arch on an external USB Hard Disk Drive. I wanted to play with ArchLinux 2009.02, but replacing the existing Debian-Lenny on the laptop's HDD wasn't an option.








How to install linux on usb hard drive